Mzansi Athletics Club’s Comrades glory

POLOKWANE – Mzansi Athletics Club is one of the clubs in the city whose athletes participated in this year’s Comrades Marathon and BONUS wanted to know how they prepared for the Ultimate Human Race.

All Mzansi runners who choose to run the Comrades are taken through a programme specifically tailored to help them finish the marathon with ease, the Couch to Comrades (C to C) programme.

This year’s C to C participants attained an 82% finish rate.

Rethabile Maloba and Vhutshilo Makwarela do a victory dance after completing the Comrades Marathon.

Mzansi entered 25 novices, three of them could not start the race due to illness, injury and family matters and 18 of the 22 who started the race managed to complete it with 10 of them receiving bronze medals. Dineo Manamela, a star performer of the club, went through the same programme before participating in her first Comrades Marathon in 2016.

Rethabile Malibu celebrates reaching the halfway mark in her first Comrades Marathon.

“She is a true example that the C to C programme can really take you from couch to Comrades and beyond, I am really excited about her performance. She thoroughly earned the Bill Rowan medal she received during this year’s Comrades. I see her as a silver medallist in the near future, but she needs to take it step by step. We also thank Dineo’s current training partners who are based in Gauteng. We further invite all who want to run the Comrades next year to register with our C to C training programme,”

(Photo supplied)Fortune Mogwatjana was tired but still during the race but kept on moving.

Bilisi Rambiyana told BONUS. Albert Masela, from Moletjie Ga-Mashamaite village is 61 years old and was very excited to receive his 20th Comrades medal.

“He and other athletes of his generation who have completed 20 and more Comrades Marathons deserve to be celebrated and recognised by government and running authorities as ambassadors for local races. I believe their achievements will encourage young people to take a leaf from their book,” Rambiyana added.

Mzansi Athletics Club top Comrades runners:

• Dineo Manamela with a time of 8:42:50.

• Matome Rasekgala with a time of 8:50:39.

• Ndivhuwo Nemamilwe with a time of 10:14:32.

• Naledzani Matidza with a time of 10:14:32.

• Kgwashipe Petrus Phoshoko with a time of 10:23:41.

Bronze medallists:

David Machethe, Kgwashipe Petrus Phoshoko, Naledzani Matidza, Fortune Mogwatjana, Foster Baloyi, Azwinndini Elvis Manyelenyele, Avhasei Victor Dangale, Ndivhuwo Nemamilwe, Masilo Sekhula, Happy Mohlala, Hangwani Makwarela, Matodzi Makwarela, Tovhowani Maswime, Albert Masela, Richard Thilivhali Rambiyana, Lufuno Mudau, Zwodangani Maligana and Dimakatso Mafona.

Vic Clapham medallists:

Martin Dennis Khosa, Malesela Mathosa, Awelani Mathoni, Mapula Bopape, Ntsakisi Ngobeni, Lucrecia Mathosa, Maseabe Moshobane, Rethabile Maloba, Vhutshilo Makwarela,

Bill Rowan medallists:

Matome Rasekgala and Dineo Manamela.

For more breaking news follow us on Facebook Twitter Instagram or send us a message on WhatsApp 079 418 4404

Latest from Review