PW Griesel bags victory in the Baobab Classic

Edwin Mackays is a veteran when it comes to the Baobab Classic and it shows with his skill.

POLOKWANE – The Baobab Classic is organised and hosted annually by the Polokwane Golf Club, also known as the ‘Home of Retief Goosen’ as Goosen honed his skills as a youngster on the Polokwane course to become a world famous PGA golf player.

The Baobab Classic is regarded as the signature tournament for the Polokwane Golf Club and is held over three days and in various formats.

Westvaal Polokwane sponsored the second hole of the Baobab Classic. Here are sales executive Ruan Gouws with some of the golfers.

The first day is traditionally played on a Thursday in a four-ball alliance format (teams of four players).

The next day’s event is played in a betterball format (two players per team) and the final day is contested in an individual stableford format (individual play).

Golfers take a look at the vehicles on display by the Baobab Classic main sponsor, BB Polokwane Ford.

BB Polokwane Ford was the proud main sponsor of this year’s 10th annual Baobab Classic golf tournament and saw a total of 36 teams with four players per team, 144 players in total, enter.

JP Farrell (Ricoh Limpopo), Kobus Marnewick, Nelson Marais, Wiaan van der Walt, Anton van Vuuren, and Gene Moulder (Ricoh Limpopo). Ricoh Polokwane sponsored the 18th hole of the Baobab Classic golf tournament.

Saturday was the third and final day of the tournament and it ensured top notch golf entertainment as golfers competed in an individual stableford format.

The results for Saturday are:


• 1 – PW Griesel, 42 points.

• 2 – Anton Lessing, 42 points (count-out).

• 3 – Jannie Bronkhorst, 41 points.

• 4 – Jan Nel, 41 points (count-out).

Individual prize winners:

• Theo Allison – longest drive on the fifth hole.

• Charles Oliver – longest drive on the 13th hole.

• Daan Kampherbeek – nearest to the pin on the fourth hole.

• Jacques de Jager – nearest to the pin on the eighth hole.

• Dawid van der Walt – nearest to the pin on the 11th hole.

• Keith Badenhorst – nearest to the pin on the 16th hole.

Winners of the second day of the tournament (Friday) played in a betterball format:

• 1 – Bruce du Toit and Gustav de Lange, 47 points.

• 2 – Keith Hoare and Werner Erasmus, 46 points (count-in).

• 3 – Albert Botha and Thomas Pretorius, 46 points (count-out).

• 4 – Phillip Kloppers and Anton Dreyer, 45 points.

• 5 – Morné Myburgh and Kobus Marnewick, 45 points (count-out).

Individual prize winners:

• Edwin Mackays – longest drive on the fifth hole.

• Willem Nieman – longest drive on the 13th hole.

• Morné Myburgh – nearest to the pin on the fourth hole.

• Piet Fourie – nearest to the pin on the eighth hole.

• Bruce du Toit – nearest to the pin on the 11th hole.

• Gustav de Lange – nearest to the pin on the 16th hole.


Roelof de Jonge

find your
dream home

looking for an

List your Property

It's easy in only three
simple steps...

find professional
services in
your area

Locate a business
operating in
your area

List your Business

Want more customers? They're online right now, searching for businesses like yours. Place your ad now...

Latest News


Next Story x
Zanis win Lim colours

Thanx for your referral. We have no doubt your friends will love our newsletter as much as you!

Don't forget to verify your email.

to our FREE newsletter
SUBSCRIBE to our FREE newsletter.

SELECT your titles:

Capricorn Review
Review Online

Your details:

Your friends:

I didn't sign up for this
I'd like to see and read more... (Please indicate in comments section below)
I'm relocating (Please indicate where to)